Psychedelic Schlemiels 4 (WHCD031)

1. Santa Lucia (IBC version) - Respect

2. Long Island Virgin's Gone - Bulldog Breed 

3. Dark Star - Pussyfoot

4. Uncle Henry's Magic Garden - David Matthews

5. Nothing - Respect

6. Great Shadowy Strange - Jade Hexagram

7. Archaeology - The Velvet Frogs

8. Good Time Love - Blue Existence

9. The Minstrel - Respect

10.  Sad Sad Sad - Sheridan's Bitter Sweet

11.  Living This Way - Dawn Of Man

12.  Wasted Ground (Memento Mori) - The Velvet Frogs

13.  Make It Break It - Blue Existence

14.  Kentucky Woman - Respect

15.  Watch Out Miss World - Dawn Of Man

16.  Saints and Angels - Pussyfoot

17.  Nightingale Lane - Bulldog Breed

18. One More Chance - The Gremlins

19.  Santa Lucia (demo version) - Respect

20. Black Mass (extended version) - Jason Crest


The fourth volume of Wooden Hill’s acclaimed series of unreleased-at-the-time British psychedelic pop artefacts, Psychedelic Schlemiels 4 gathers up twenty acetates, demos and private recordings from the soft white underbelly of the late 1960s group scene.

Major discoveries this time around include a live-from-Swedish TV track from legendary London underground club band Jade Hexagram, two unreleased recordings from Bulldog Breed and a near-seven minute acetate-only version of Jason Crest’s much-loved ‘Black Mass’.

With fascinating unreleased material by Velvet Underground/Nico-loving Surrey teens the Velvet Frogs, High Wycombe underground warriors Respect and songwriter David Matthews (the man who wrote Matt Monro’s countercultural anthem ‘We’re Gonna Change The World’), Psychedelic Schlemiels 4 is another essential purchase for all admirers of vintage British psych-pop.

© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014