THE PREACHERS Nod, Shake & Stomp With The Preachers (TP053)

Side One

  1. Sweet Little Rock'n'Roller
  2. Don't Lie To Me
  3. Talkin' "Bout You
  4. Boys
  5. Johnny B. Goode
  6. Reelin' And Rockin'
  7. Blue Feeling
  8. I've Gotta Find My Baby

Side Two

  1. Back In The USA
  2. Blueberry Hill
  3. Route 66
  4. Great Balls Of Fire
  5. I'll Never Get Over You
  6. Lucille
  7. Don't Lie To Me
  8. Honey What's Wrong

The Preachers are one of the seminal obscure bands of the mid-'60s British rock/pop scene, with links to the family trees of the Rolling Stones, Bill Wyman and the Herd. However, they are also one of the last-heard, with only a solitary 1965 single having previously gained a release. Nod, Shake & Stomp finally changes all that, unearthing two previously unreleased studio demos from 1964 plus no less than fourteen live tracks that were recorded in the same year. The result is an album of vintage, swaggering British teenage beat/R&B. Nothing less than the full history of the Preachers, this release features two original members of the Herd in former Rolling Stones drummer Tony Chapman and singer Terry Clark, as well as the astonishing young guitarist Steve Carroll, recorded just weeks before his tragically early death in a car crash (he was replaced by Peter Frampton). The album includes an insert featuring lengthy liner notes from Bill Wyman that document his journey from pre-Preachers outfit the Cliftons to the Stones, with the aid of some great, previously unpublished photos and gig posters from Bill's personal collection of memorabilia. This important slice of British beat/R&B history is a vinyl-only release of 1000 numbered copies on 190gm vinyl.


"Photographs of Bill Wyman with the Cliftons, as well as his recollections and diary entries, swell sleevenotes that pop historians may find as intriguing as the contents of this disc. The repertoire leans as heavily on classic rock as R&B, and only loss of momentum through fade-outs between tracks mars the period charm of a local hop during UK pop's most unpretentiously optimistic era." (Record Collector)


© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014