MEIC STEVENS September 1965: The Tony Pike Sessions (TP056)

Side One

  1. It Ain't For Me To Ask The Reason Why
  2. The Vulture And The Dove
  3. Up On The Mountain
  4. Walking Talking London Blues
  5. If I Had You Next To Me
  6. Red Rain Blues

Side Two

  1. The Clown In The Alley
  2. Bad Luck Baby Blues (No Booze Blues)
  3. First Love
  4. Winter Of The Clan
  5. Not For Me Mr. M.P.

Namedropped by everyone from politicians to the Super Furry Animals, Meic Stevens is regarded as a national treasure and a living legend in his native Wales. In 1965, however, he was just another Dylan/Donovan-style folkie, recently dropped by Decca after his debut single had disappeared without trace. In the autumn of 1965 he went to the Tony Pike studios in Putney, London, to record a batch of original songs to hawk around various labels as a finished album. Unfortunately he then lost the only two acetates pressed, and promptly returned to the Welsh folk clubs for a few years before releasing the seminal 1970 Warners album Outlander. Recently discovered on reel-to-reel by one of Meic's old drinking partners, September 1965: The Tony Pike Sessions is the first-ever release of that long-lost demo album, consisting of eleven original, previously-unheard songs like "Winter Of The Clan', "Not For Me Mister M.P.' and "It Ain't For Me To Ask The Reason Why'. A valuable addition to the Meic Stevens legend, this is a great companion piece to the now sold-out Tenth Planet album Ghost Town. 1000 copies on 190gm vinyl.


© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014