Side One

  1. Sunshine Of Your Love - The Fruit Machine
  2. Talk Of The Devil - The Illusion Of Happiness
  3. Room At The Top Of The Stairs - Timothy Blue
  4. Smokey Blue's Away - A New Generation
  5. The Laughing Man - John Carter & Russ Alquist
  6. Goodbye Love - Simon De Lacy
  7. Liberation Interlude #1 - Jasper
  8. Give A Hand To The Clown - The Carlew Choir
  9. Follow Me - The Fruit Machine

Side Two

  1. You're Still Mine - The Eggy
  2. And I Remember - Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera
  3. She's A Soldier Boy - A New Generation
  4. Willow Tree - The Fruit Machine
  5. Magic People - Carter/Keen/Shaw
  6. You're In Life - Icarus
  7. Michael Blues - The Baby
  8. Liberation Interlude #2 - Jasper
  9. Wear Your Love Like Heaven - Eartha Kitt

Tenth Planet's series of late '60s label compilations reaches the second and final part of the Spark story, featuring no less than eighteen slices of day-glo English psychedelia and baroque sunshine/harmony pop. Highlights this time around include obscure releases from the Carlew Choir, Jasper, the Fruit Machine (including the American-only release "Willow Tree'), the previously unreleased "Magic People' from John Carter and friends, and a couple of unreleased-at-the-time performances from Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera, including the title track to the little-known 1967 Swingin' London horror movie short Talk Of The Devil , recorded by the group under the contractual alias of The Illusion Of Happiness. Housed in a superb Rubble-style sleeve from Bam Caruso mastermind Phil Smee, this 190gm vinyl-only pressing is limited to 1000 numbered copies.


"This is the second Acid Test volume to look at Southern Music's offshoot Spark label. As always with Tenth Planet, the liners are detailed and the pics a treat on the insert, whilst the usual Phil Smee sleeve art is also present and correct… Another delicious package of pop goodies from Tenth Planet, and a welcome place on my shelf anyway!" (Shindig!)

© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014