CHIMERA Chimera (WHCD013)

  1. Come Into The Garden
  2. The Grail
  3. Sad Song For Winter
  4. Mary's Mystery
  5. Lady With Bullets In Her Hair
  6. Black Hat Babe
  7. Song In E
  8. Episode At Telegraph Hill
  9. Morning Sounds
  10. Peru

    Bonus Tracks

  11. Sad Song For Winter (alternative mix)
  12. Elegy To A Dead King
  13. The Voyage
  14. Of Reason
  15. Reflection Of A Thought
  16. Mr. Binns Takes A Trip
  17. Gypsy Wanderer
  18. Piper Song
  19. Ballad Of A Lady Waiting


Legendary in collector circles for years, this magnificent unreleased album from the late '60s UK acid folk/psych scene is now available on CD for the first time, with a cache of pre-LP sessions bonus tracks making their debut in any format. Led by a couple of Swinging London pop groupies, Chimera recorded their album for Morgan Blue Town, but it was never released because of an accident to the lead singer that would have prevented her from promoting it. The sessions were produced by the group's manager, Pink Floyd's Nick Mason - both he and Floyd keyboardist Rick Wright make cameo instrumental appearances, while other names involved include the Smoke's Mal Luker, who plays guitar and produces the earlier tracks, future Fleetwood Mac guitarist Bob Weston, and the Orange Bicycle's Wil Malone, who arranges all the songs. Detailed booklet tells the full Chimera story (and what a story it is!) with quotes and photos.

"An album of superb psychedelic folk pre-dating Mellow Candle and Fairport Convention… both girls provide distinctive vocal performances, and all the songs are strong. Essential." (Record Collector)


© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014