ANGEL PAVEMENT Maybe Tomorrow (WHCD014)

1. The Man In The Shop On The Corner

2. Maybe Tomorrow

3. Time Is Upon Us

4. Green Mello Hill

5. Little Old Man

6. When Will I See June Again

7. Genevieve

8. Water Woman

9. Napoleon

10. Socialising

11. Jennifer

12. Carrie

13. I'm A Dreamer

14. Baby You've Gotta Stay

15. I'm Moving On

Bonus Tracks

16. Tell Me What I've Got To Do

17. Phantasmagoria

18. Rooftop Memories

19. Tootsy Wootsy Feelgood

20. Flying On The Ground (Is Wrong)

21. Five Sisters

22. Desperate Dan

23. I'm Moving On (early mix)

Best known for their highly regarded late '60s singles (including the popsike classic "Green Mello Hill'), Angel Pavement actually cut an entire album for Monty Babson's Morgan Blue Town set-up in 1969, but sadly it failed to appear at the time due to the two singles' lack of commercial success. Including a great cover version of the Iveys' title track, Maybe Tomorrow was first issued on vinyl by Tenth Planet, but this extensively-retooled CD equivalent adds a further eight tracks, including five superb West Coast-leaning demos recorded locally in 1967 before they came down south. A genuine late '60s baroque harmony pop classic in the same vein as Left Banke and Honeybus, this release features a heavily expanded essay on the band, new quotes from group members and many previously-unseen photos.

"Without wishing to build expectations too prematurely, I have to say that this is a real beauty of an album… it sounds to me like one of the strongest projects ever to come out of a Morgan act. Baroque harmony pop with strong tunes and five-part harmony singing which just makes you smile as you listen. There are a number of tunes here which have a lot more going on in them than you might at first think, and repays repeated listening. This is my record of the month without a doubt!" (Shindig!)

"Very impressive… an amazing wealth of great songs. It really is difficult to know where to begin when every track is so lovely. This is unreservedly recommended." (Sweet Floral Albion)


© Tenth Planet/Wooden Hill 2008-2014